Gof Writers Association honors Donald, Lehman and Tseng

The Golf Writers Association of America has named their 2011 Players of the Year. To no ones surprise they chose Luke Donald, Tom Lehman and Yani Tseng.

The trio will be honored at a ceremony and awards dinner in Augusta on April 4, 2012 - The Wednesday before the Masters begins.

This will mark the first POY award from the GWAA for Donald, and second for both Lehman and Tseng.

Donald, Lehman and Tseng won the awards going away from the other players in the running for the honor.

Donald commanded 88 percent of the voting over Keegan Bradley and Webb Simpson.

Lehman received 86 percent of the votes over fellow Champions Tour players John Cook and Mark Calcavecchia.

Tawaineese sensation Tseng dominated the voting, receiving 95 percent of the votes over Stacy Lewis, Suzann Petterson and Lexi Thompson.

Donald of course has an incredible 2011 which saw him ascend to the No. 1 ranking in the world as well as winning both money titles on the PGA and European Tours.

Combining that with four wins world wide, and Donald was the odds on favorite to win the award.

Lehman made history in his own right in 2011. He became the only player to ever win POY on all three tours. The Nationwide Tour, PGA Tour and Champions Tour.

He also racked up three wins in 2011, including his second Champions Tour major at the Regions Tradition.

Tseng's 2011 season was one that may never be repeated in the near future.

She dominated women's golf this year winning an unbelievable 12 times around the world.

In those 12 wins she also stacked her trophy case with two more LPGA majors at the Women's British Open and LPGA Championship.

With their history making seasons, all three players had incredible years in 2011, rewriting the record books and setting the bar even higher for the competition in 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment